Submissions for the 2022 AIA Housing Awards Are Open

The 2022 cycle opens August 17 and closes October 14.

It’s a life necessity, a sanctuary for the human spirit, and many people’s first and most personal encounter with architecture: the house. By recognizing the best in home design, AIA Housing Awards show the world how beauty, safety, sustainability, and comfort can come together.

New for 2022, the AIA Housing Awards offers opportunities in eight categories:

  • One- and Two-Family Custom Residences
  • One- and Two-Family Production Homes
  • Multifamily Housing
  • Specialized Housing
  • Excellence in Affordable Housing
  • Mixed-Use Community Connection
  • Community-Engaged Design (entry fee waived)
  • Universal Dwelling Design

The jury evaluates entries relative to the AIA Framework for Design Excellence with considerations of equity, resilience and innovation and delight.

View the sample application.

Submit now

More from Housing and Community Development

Changing the Narrative: Engaging and Empowering the Next Generation
Oct 4, 2021, 1-3pm ET | 1 LU/HSW | free

After a popular makeshift skatepark in New Orleans was demolished, Transitional Spaces, a volunteer-based group of young skaters, approached Tulane University’s Albert and Tina Small Center for Collaborative Design for help with developing a new one on city-owned land beneath a highway overpass. Ann Yoachim shares the story of how the university-based community design center engaged neighborhood residents, skaters, students, design professionals, and public agencies in a collaborative design/build process that created Parisite Skatepark, a 2019 Rudy Bruner Award Silver Medalist. She and Anne-Marie Lubenau discuss the park’s impact and the power of community-engaged design to affect change.

Learn more >

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.