Announcing the 2021 AIA Housing Award Winners

AIA’s Housing Awards program, now in its 21st year, was established to recognize the best in housing design for new construction, renovations and restorations. Each year projects are awarded based on four different categories: one- and two-family custom residences; one- and two-family production homes; multifamily housing; and specialized housing.

This year’s recipients were selected by a five-member jury that evaluated projects for demonstrating design excellence. Additionally, the jury evaluates whether designs are sustainable, affordable, durable, innovative, socially impactful, meeting client needs as well as addressing the natural and built contexts. The 2021 Housing Award recipients are:


Category 1 – One- and Two-Family Custom Residences

LeanToo, Austin, Texas | Nick Deaver

Loom House, Bainbridge Island, Washington | Miller Hull Partnership, LLP

Portage Bay Float Home, Seattle | Studio DIAA

Walk-Street House, Hermosa Beach, California | ras-a studio


Category 2 – One- and two-family production homes

Tsuga Townhomes, Seattle | Wittman Estes


Category 3 – Multifamily Housing

Edwin M. Lee Apartments, San Francisco | Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects

Independence Library and Apartments, Chicago | John Ronan Architects


Category 4 – Specialized Housing

Adohi Hall, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Arkansas | Leers Weinzapfel Associates

Bastion Community, New Orleans | Office of Jonathan Tate

The Arroyo Affordable Housing, Santa Monica, California | KoningEizenberg Architecture

Visit AIA’s website for more information on the Housing Awards program.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.