AIA’s 2018 Housing Awards Announced

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) is recognizing 11 exceptional residential designs with its 2018 Housing Awards. Complete details for each of the awarded projects can be reviewed on AIA’s website.

AIA’s Housing Awards program, now in its 18th year, was established to recognize the best in housing design for new constructions, renovations and restorations. Each year projects are awarded based on four different categories: one- and two-family custom residences; one- and two-family production homes; multifamily housing; and specialized housing.

This year’s recipients were selected by a five-member jury that evaluated projects for demonstrating design excellence. Additionally, the jury evaluates whether designs are sustainable, affordable, durable, innovative, socially impactful, meeting client needs, and addressing the natural and built contexts. The 2018 Housing Award recipients are:

One- and Two-Family Custom Residences

The Bear Stand; Gooderham, Ontario, Canada | Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Ghost Wash House; Paradise Valley, Arizona | Architecture-Infrastructure-Research

South 5th Residence; Austin, Texas | alterstudio architecture

Underhill; Matinecock, New York | Bates Masi + Architects

One- and Two-Family Production Homes

3106 St. Thomas; New Orleans | OJT

Linea Residence G; Palm Springs, California | Poon Design Inc. and Prest Vuksic Architects

Multifamily Housing

The Multifamily Housing award recognizes outstanding apartment and condominium design. In addition to architectural design features, the jury assessed the integration of the building(s) into their context, including open and recreational space, transportation options and features that contribute to livable communities.

150 Charles; New York City | COOKFOX Architects, DPC and Alan Wanzenberg Architect & Design

Mariposa1038; Los Angeles | Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects

Navy Green; Brooklyn, New York | FXCollaborative and Curtis + Ginsberg Architects LLP

Specialized Housing

Specialized Housing recognizes outstanding design of housing that meets the unique needs of other specialized housing types such as single room occupancy residences (SROs), independent living for the disabled, residential rehabilitation programs, domestic violence shelters, and other special housing.

Benjamin Franklin College and Pauli Murray College, Yale University; New Haven, Connecticut | Robert A.M. Stern Architects

Crest Apartments; Van Nuys, California | Michael Maltzan Architecture

This year’s jury was comprised of Victor A. Mirontschuk, FAIA (Chair), EDI International, PC; Katie Gerfen, ARCHITECT Magazine; Luis Jauregui, FAIA, Jauregui Architecture Interiors Construction; Adrianne Steichen, AIA, Pyatok Architects; and John Thatch, AIA, Dahlin Group Architecture Planning. Visit AIA’s website for more information on the housing awards program.

About AIA

Founded in 1857, AIA consistently works to create more valuable, healthy, secure, and sustainable buildings, neighborhoods, and communities. Through more than 200 international, state and local chapters, AIA advocates for public policies that promote economic vitality and public wellbeing.

AIA provides members with tools and resources to assist them in their careers and business as well as engaging civic and government leaders and the public to find solutions to pressing issues facing our communities, institutions, nation, and world. Members adhere to a code of ethics and conduct to ensure the highest professional standards.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.