2021 AIA Housing Awards Open for Entries

It’s a life necessity, a sanctuary for the human spirit, and many people’s first and most personal encounter with architecture: the house. By recognizing the best in home design, AIA Housing Awards show the world how beauty, safety, sustainability, and comfort can come together.

Applications are due November 17, before 5pm ET.



  • Architects licensed in the US or any owner of a structure or project.
  • On team projects, the architect submitting the entry doesn’t have to be the head of the team.
  • All team, group, or firm projects must credit all who substantially contributed in any capacity (for example, landscape architects and construction firms).


  • New construction, renovations, and restorations are eligible.
  • Projects must have been completed after January 1, 2015.

Submission Details

The AIA Housing Awards offer opportunities in four categories:

  • Category one: One- and Two-Family Custom Residences​
  • Category two: One- and Two-Family Production Homes​
  • Category three: Multifamily Housing​
  • Category four: Specialized Housing

All projects must demonstrate design excellence. The jury evaluates entries based on how successfully projects have met their individual requirements. The jury also evaluates entries’ sustainability, affordability, social impact, innovation, durability, how the projects address the natural and built contexts, and how they meet specific client needs.

Entries are judged individually—not in competition with each other.

Entry fee: $375 for members and $750 for non-members (with the exception of category 2 where the fee will be waived again this year)



Submission process

Please View the 2021 Housing Award Sample Application.

The submission site will open on August 27, 2020, all applications must be completed through the submission site. Visit the submission site for full submission details prior to the deadline. After logging in, you may view the entire submission site, and save your submission as you work to complete it. You will not be asked to pay until your submission is complete.

If you are interested is reviewing previously successful submissions please contact our archivist.

Past Recipients


Broadway Housing

Courtyward House

MLK Plaza

PPR Residence Hall

Sonoma Farmhaus

Whidbey Farm

XS House


Jefferson Park Apartments

Off-Grid Guesthouse

Georgica Cove

Tiny Tower

Oak Park Housing

Bill Sorro Community

Mirror Point

Bigwin Island Club Cabins


San Joaquin Villages

Lofts at Mayo Park

Skyline Residence Hall


The Bear Stand

Ghost Wash House

South 5th Residence


3106 St. Thomas

Linea Residence G

150 Charles


Navy Green

Benjamin Franklin College and Pauli  Murray College, Yale University

Crest Apartments


Blue Lake Retreat, Lake|Flato

The Graphic House, Marlon Blackwell Architects

Los Altos Residence, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Pennsylvania Farmhouse, Cutler Anderson Architects

Sawmill, Olson Kundig

Cully Grove, Green Gables Design and Restoration

Roxbury E+, Interface Studio Architects

Stellar Residences and Townhomes at Northstar, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Hunters View Housing Blocks 5&6, Paulett Taggart Architects

Powerhouse, Interface Studio Architects

Via 57 West, Bjarke Ingels Group

Heartland Family Works, Alley Poyner Macchietto Architecture, Inc.

The Lofts at Washington University in St. Louis, William Rawn Associates, Architects Inc.

The SIX, Brooks + Scarpa


Homeless Veterans Transitional Housing, VA Campus, LEO A DALY

Commonwealth Honors College, William Rawn Associates, Architects Inc.

Cloverdale749, Lorcan O’Herlihy Architects

1180 Fourth Street, Mithun initiated as WRT/Solomon E.T.C.

Oak Ridge House, Duvall Decker Architects, P.A.

Newberg Residence, Cutler Anderson Architects

Island Residence, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Independence Pass Residence, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Hog Pen Creek Retreat, Lake|Flato Architects

Whitetail Woods Regional Park Camper Cabins, HGA


Category one

Bridge House, Joeb Moore & Partners

Marlboro Music: Five Cottages, HGA Architects and Engineers

Old Briar, Applied Research

Studhorse, Olson Kundig Architects

Category three

The North Parker – mixed use, affordable housing, Jonathan Segal, FAIA

Bayview Hill Gardens, David Baker Architects

Broadway Affordable Housing, Kevin Daly Architects

Category four

160 Massachusetts Avenue Tower, William Rawn Associates, Architects Inc.

John C Anderson Apartments, WRT LLC

La Casa Permanent Supportive Housing, Studio Twenty Seven Architecture | Leo A. Daly JV


Category one

Informal House, Koning Eizenberg Architecture Inc.

Kicking Horse Residence, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Park Passive, NK Architects

Sol Duc Cabin, Olson Kundig Architects

Topo House, Johnsen Schmaling Architects

Category three

1221 Broadway, Lake|Flato Architects

Cherokee Studios, Brooks + Scarpa

Merritt Crossing Senior Apartments, Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects

Category four

28th Street Apartments, Koning Eizenberg Architecture Inc.

Sweetwater Spectrum Community, Leddy Maytum Stacy Architects


Category one

Eagle Ridge, Gary Gladwish Architecture

Halls Ridge Knoll Guest House, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

House in the Mountains, GLUCK+

Lake View Residence, Alterstudio Architecture LLP

Category three

Via Verde – The Green Way, Dattner Architects and Grimshaw Architects

Category four

West Campus Housing – Phase I, Mahlum Architects

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.